Modern Healthcare and the demise of Critical Thinking

One thing I have come to learn in the recent months, is that doctors arent particularly smarter than the average person. What I mean is they do not have particularly developed critical thinking skills. They are highly intelligent, mind you, as also highly trained, but they have not been taught the skill to think for themselves. Which is a good thing in the current medical paradigm, where the diagnoses are supposed to be made strictly on an objective ‘symptom complex’, but falls insanely short when dealing with so-called ‘dustbin diagnoses’ like CFS & Fibromyalgia.

If we can’t measure it, it doesn’t exist. Such a conclusion may earn a failing grade in a freshman course in Logic, but is routinely passed off as a ‘logical decision making’ by medical professionals all over the world, some of whom I have had the pleasure of meeting personally.

So, if you have a condition like CFS, Fibromyalgia, or any other such ‘invisible illness’ you’re most likely in for a rough ride. You are a nightmare patient. You are a time-waster. You are a malingerer.

Now that I have spread my little ray of sunshine :p, here’s the (relatively) good news. I was diagnosed back in august 2012 and by the end of April 2013, I am well on my way to recovery. All achieved by rock solid Critical Thinking, objective measurements and analysis, and tracking of results. No little ditties in faith, belief or positive thinking here (though those aspects are also undeniably impotant, but in the right contextual framework).

Also important to know is that, I may have reached the extent of my recovery. I may not get any better. Why do I say this? Because, logically, there is no way to know. Past performance does not guarantee future results (It does make them more likely though). Consider this your first lesson in critical thinking.

You should also note, though my physical recovery has gained in momentum, the same cannot be said about my mental/cognitive side. Brainfog, hypersensitivity to light and noise, inability to watch TV or listen to music are all very much a part of my life. BUT, I have gained enough leeway to atleast write this blog. Even though this much mental effort has given me an intense headache.

Love,
Foggy dude

Leave a Reply

